AK Party candidate Kahraman reelected as parliament speaker

Published 20.11.2017 16:57 Modified 20.11.2017 17:47
emAA Photo/em
AA Photo

Justice and Development (AK Party) candidate İsmail Kahraman has been reelected as the speaker of the parliament with 289 votes in the third round, reports said Monday.

The Republican People's Party's (CHP) candidate Zekeriya Temizel obtained 124 votes, while the Nationalist Movement Party's (MHP) candidate Celal Adan gained 36 and the Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP) candidate Selma Irmak obtained 37 votes, while Good Party candidate Yusuf Halaçoğlu got seven votes.

In the first two rounds of voting, successful candidates would have needed the support of at least 367 lawmakers.

In a third round of voting, a minimum of 276 votes was needed.

Kahraman, a veteran AK Party member from Rize province, holds the second highest position in the home province of President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan.

He previously served at the labor and culture ministries as undersecretary and minister, respectively.

He was a culture minister between 1996 and 1997 and previously a deputy in Turkey's 20th and 21st parliaments.

According to internal regulations, the election of the Parliament speaker is held regularly every two years. Under previous regulations, the first elected Parliament speaker served two years, and the second for three years, in compliance with the five years between general elections. However, considering the constitutional changes under the coming presidential system, the newly elected Parliament speaker will be assigned to the position for two years due to the reduction of the time between general elections to four years.

AK Party holds 316 seats, CHP 131, HDP 54, MHP 36 and the Good Party have 5 seats in the parliament.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter