Prime Minister Davutoğlu announces the new cabinet

Prime Minister Davutoğlu announces the new cabinet

Turkey's new Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoğlu has submitted his cabinet list to President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan to form the 62nd government of Turkey.

Most of the former ministers held their posts, while four new names made it to the list including Minister of EU Affairs, Minister of Customs and Trade and two deputy prime ministers. Davutoğlu's foreign ministry position was replaced by Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu while Numan Kurtulmuş and Yalçın Akdoğan became deputy prime ministers. Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu's post at the EU affairs was replaced by Volkan Bozkır and Nurettin Canikli became the new minister of customs and trade, replacing Hayati Yazici.

Shortly after the announcement of the cabinet, EU Minister Volkan Bozkır stated that Turkey's strategic goal is to obtain membership status in the European Union.

Below is a list of ministers in Turkey's 62nd government

Deputy Prime Minister: Bülent Arınç
Deputy Prime Minister: Ali Babacan
Deputy Prime Minister: Yalçın Akdoğan
Deputy Prime Minister: Numan Kurtulmuş
Minister of EU Affairs: Volkan Bozkır

Minister of Culture and Tourism: Ömer Çelik
Minister of Development: Cevdet Yılmaz
Minister of Economy: Nihat Zeybekci
Minister of Energy and Natural Resources: Taner Yıldız
Minister of Environment and City Planning: İdris Güllüce
Minister of Family and Social Policy: Ayşenur İslam
Minister of Finance: Mehmet Şimşek
Minister of Food, Agriculture and Livestock: M.Mehdi Eker
Minister of Foreign Affairs: Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu
Minister of Forest and Water Management: Veysel Eroğlu
Minister of Health: Mehmet Müezzinoğlu
Minister of Science, Industry and Technology: Fikri Işık
Minister of Interior: Efkan Ala
Minister of Justice: Bekir Bozdağ
Minister of Labor and Social Security: Faruk Çelik
Minister of National Defense: İsmet Yılmaz
Minister of National Education: Nabi Avcı
Minister of Transport, Maritime Affairs and Communications: Lütfi Elvan
Minister of Youth and Sports: Akif Çağatay Kılıç
Minister of Customs and Trade- Nurettin Canikli

Erdoğan left his chairmanship position at the AK Party following the August 10 presidential elections, when he was elected as president, gaining 52 percent of the vote.

Likewise Ahmet Davutoğlu who has served as a foreign minister for the past five years has succeeded Erdoğan as he was elected as the new chairman of AK Party at an extraordinary congress held in Ankara on Thursday attended by tens of thousands of people.

AK Party is expected to hold a meeting at 5 pm on Friday to choose members for the Central Executive Board (MYK).

Following the ratification of the new cabinet, the Program of the 62nd Government will be pronounced at the Turkish Grand National Assembly (TBMM) on September 1st. In accordance with internal regulations, discussions will take place at the General Assembly two days after the program is read and a vote of confidence is expected to take place on September 6 or 8.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter