Barca's Messi, Neymar vs Real's Ronaldo on Ballon d'Or shortlist

Published 02.12.2015 00:00
Messi (L), Ronaldo (C) and Neymar
Messi (L), Ronaldo (C) and Neymar

Lionel Messi and Neymar from Barcelona will compete with Real Madrid's Portuguese star Cristiano Ronaldo for the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award which is given to the year's best player. The contenders for the 2015 FIFA Ballon d'Or Award were announced on The nominees for the FIFA Ballon d'Or are Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona) and Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona). Ronaldo received the award last year and the one before. Previously, Messi had claimed it four years in a row. Meanwhile, the nominees for the women's award for best player of 2015 are as follows:

Carli Lloyd (USA/Houston Dash)

Aya Miyama (Japan/Okayama Yunogo Belle)

Celia Sasic (Germany/1. FFC Frankfurt)

The candidates for the FIFA World Coach of the Year have also been announced. The contenders for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for men's football award are as follows:

Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Bayern Munich)

Luis Enrique Martinez (Spain/FC Barcelona)

Jorge Sampaoli (Chile)

The three nominated goals are as follows:

Alessandro Florenzi-16.09.2015, AS Roma - FC Barcelona, UEFA Champions League

Wendell Lira-11.03.2015, Atletico-GO-Goianesia, Campeonato Goiano (Brazil)

Lionel Messi-30.05.2015, Athletic Bilbao - FC Barcelona, Copa del Rey (Spain).

All of the awards will be presented at the FIFA Ballon d'Or Award ceremony at the Kongresshaus in Zurich on Jan. 11, 2016.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter