The captain of Galatasaray's Under-14 team has earned praise with a rare act of sportsmanship as he deliberately missed a penalty following what he believed was a wrong call by the referee.
Beknaz Almazbekov, Galatasaray's 13-year-old captain, dribbled inside from the left and fell down under pressure from an Istanbulspor defender in the box.
The referee gave a penalty, but Kyrgyzstan-born Almazbekov disagreed.
With his team already winning 1-0, he rejected the opportunity to double their lead and intentionally kicked the ball out of play. The match took place on March 24.
Almazbekov's side went on to beat Istanbulspor 3-0.
Please click to read our informative text prepared pursuant to the Law on the Protection of Personal Data No. 6698 and to get information about the cookies used on our website in accordance with the relevant legislation.
6698 sayılı Kişisel Verilerin Korunması Kanunu uyarınca hazırlanmış aydınlatma metnimizi okumak ve sitemizde ilgili mevzuata uygun olarak kullanılan çerezlerle ilgili bilgi almak için lütfen tıklayınız.