Saudi Arabia, UAE, Egypt and Bahrain designate prominent Muslim scholar Qaradawi as 'terrorist'

Published 09.06.2017 01:42
Updated 11.06.2017 11:40
emReuters Photo/em
Reuters Photo

Four Arab countries which cut ties with Qatar this week over its alleged support of terrorism on Friday designated dozens of people with alleged links to Qatar as 'terrorists,' including the prominent Muslim scholar and spiritual leader of the Muslim Brotherhood movement, Yousef al-Qaradawi.

Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Egypt and Bahrain said in a statement published by the Saudi news agency that 59 people, including al-Qaradawi, and 12 entities, among them Qatari-funded charities, were named.

Yousef al-Qaradawi is also the President of the International Union for Muslim Scholars.

Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Bahrain severed relations with Doha and closed their airspace to commercial flights on Monday, charging it with financing militant groups.

Qatar vehemently denies the accusations. It is the worst split between powerful Arab states in decades.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter