Taylor Swift dominates 2015 MTV VMA nominations

Published 21.07.2015 20:31
Singer Taylor Swift performs during her 1989 world tour at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J., on Friday, July 10, 2015. (AP Photo)
Singer Taylor Swift performs during her "1989" world tour at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J., on Friday, July 10, 2015. (AP Photo)

Taylor Swift plans to dominate the MTV Video Music Awards once again with nine nominations in next month's long-awaited music video medium.

The nominations have been announced by Apple Music's Beat 1 on Tuesday, one day after "Wrecking Ball"star Miley Cyrus was announced as this year's host.

Swift, 25, is nominated for nine moonmen (the statue given to winners), including Video of the Year with her recent hit "Bad Blood" starring Selena Gomez, Jessica Alba, Cara Delevingne and many more of her famous friends; Best Female Video and Best Pop Video for "Blank Space," Best Collaboration, Best Art Direction, Best Cinematography, Best Direction, Best Editing, and Best Visual Effects.

Lamar, who is featured on "Bad Blood," is nominated for video of the year, thanks to his own hit, "Alright."

Other nominees for the top prize include Beyonce's "7/11," Ed Sheeran's "Thinking out Loud" and "Uptown Funk" by Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars.

The 2015 VMAs, hosted by Miley Cyrus, will air live August 30 from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

Following Swift, there is Brit Ed Sheeran with six nominations, while Beyonce, Lamar and Ronson have five each.

Swift's "Blank Space" will compete for best female video and pop video, while "Bad Blood" is up for best collaboration, direction, editing, visual effects, art direction and cinematography.

The voting will start on Tuesday.

Beyonce, Sia, Nicki Minaj and Ellie Goulding will battle Swift for best female video, while Sheeran, Lamar, Ronson, the Weeknd and Nick Jonas will compete for best male video.

Diplo, FKA twigs, Skrillex and Minaj earned three nominations each, while the Weeknd, Ariana Grande and Fetty Wap are double nominees.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter