Five critical items on PM Davutoğlu's agenda after Nov 18

MERVE AYDOĞAN @mgulaydogan
Published 08.11.2015 20:26

Once the Supreme Election Board (YSK) announces the official results of the Nov. 1 elections in the government's Official Gazette, at the end of a five-day period, the elected deputies will attend Parliament for the oath-taking ceremony. The YSK's announcement is expected to be on Nov. 12, which would mean the oath-taking ceremony will be held on Nov. 17, after which the new government can then be formed as early as Nov. 18. With the new government, Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoğlu aims to address five critical items, the foremost of which is the formation of a new constitution. Additionally, the 64th government's agenda will not only include the Justice and Development Party's (AK Party) 2023 goals, but also the four-year road map until the next elections.

With veteran AK Party figures returning to the party following the elections, a revision of the Cabinet is expected, as Prime Minister Davutoğlu is expected to include several figures from the party's Central Executive Board (MYK). Sources have indicated that an adjustment in the party administration will also be discussed. The five critical items on Davutoğlu's agenda upon formation of the new government includes a new constitution and presidential system, an economic transformation program, enhanced diplomacy that further leads to momentum in Turkey's EU accession process and initiatives for the national unity and brotherhood project that has been introduced to replace the reconciliation process. The final item on Davutoğlu's agenda includes the implementation of significant projects to reach the party's 2023 goals for the country.

In addition to these, Davutoğlu has indicated several times that an adjustment to the ministries is necessary, and has said that new ministries will be established. The number of deputy prime ministers is expected to increase to five while a Human Rights and Immigration Ministry is likely to be formed. Furthermore, the Environment and City Planning Ministry; Culture and Tourism Ministry; Transport, Maritime and Communication Ministry; Forest and Water Management Ministry and Customs and Trade Ministry will be separated. Such adjustment can only be made only after legal regulations are done.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter