National Unity Party chairman appointed to form new Turkish Cypriot government

Published 11.04.2016 17:50
Hüseyin Özgürgün (AA Photo)
Hüseyin Özgürgün (AA Photo)

National Unity Party (UBP) Chairman Hüseyin Özgürgün has been authorized to form a new Turkish Cypriot government after the country's ruling coalition fell apart.

After a caucus meeting on Monday, the UBP authorized Özgürgün to form a coalition government with the Democratic Party-National Forces (DP-UG) and independents.

Özgürgün is expected to submit a Cabinet list to President Mustafa Akıncı on April 16.

UBP, the junior partner in the wide-based coalition with the Republican Turkish Party-United Forces (CTP-BG), withdrew from the government on April 2.

Amid the government's resignation, the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is in talks with the Greek Cypriot administration. Hopes have been running high that a reunification agreement would be reached this year.

In July 2015 the UBP formed a coalition government with the CTP-BG. That party currently has 20 seats in the Turkish Cypriot parliament, and the UBP has 18.

The Democratic Party-National Forces (DP-UG) has five deputies, the Communal Democracy Party (TDP) has three, and there are four independent deputies.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter